New Enrolment Restrictions for Onshore Applicants

Australia’s migration system is facing significant changes as the government introduces stricter visa regulations aimed at curbing exploitation and improving planning.

From 1 July 2024, Latitude College will no longer be able to accept enrolment applications from Visitor Visa holders. The visitor to student pathway has become increasingly prevalent, with over 36,000 applications since 1 July 2023 to the end of May 2024.

Also, Temporary Graduate Visa holders will not be able to apply for Student Visas onshore from 1 July 2024.

In addition to existing visas from which it is already not possible to apply for a Student visa onshore, the complete list of visa holders that will be unable to apply for a Student visa onshore are:

  • Subclass 485 (Temporary Graduate)
  • Subclass 600 (Visitor)
  • Subclass 601 (Electronic Travel Authority)
  • Subclass 602 (Medical Treatment)
  • Subclass 651 (eVisitor)
  • Subclass 771 (Transit)
  • Subclass 988 (Maritime Crew)
  • Subclass 995 (Diplomatic Temporary) – primary visa holders only
  • Subclass 403 (Temporary Work) International Relations)) – Domestic Worker (Diplomatic or Consular) stream
  • Subclass 426 (Domestic Worker (Temporary) – Diplomatic or Consular)


Quotes attributable to Minister for Home Affairs and Cyber Security Clare O’Neil

“The migration system we inherited was completely broken, and our goal is to build a smaller, better planned, more strategic migration system that works for Australia.”